Service with a smile

Rated 5 out of 5
May 8, 2022

Had just what I needed.

Nick

Response from SHARE: Frome, A Library of Things

Glad we could be of help Nick and thanks for the review. See you again soon.

Just when I needed something...there it was!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 8, 2022

I suddenly experienced acute back pain so needed crutches quickly and only for a short time. When I searched the Share catalogue they had a pair of crutches in stock ready for collection. They were cheap, short term, and really helped me out. Brilliant service too! Thank you to everyone at Share!

Emma Parker

Response from SHARE: Frome, A Library of Things

Hey Emma. We’re really sorry to hear you were suffering but so glad that we were able to help you out. We hope you’re feeling better and look forward to seeing you again soon. Hopefully for something fun next time. 🙂

Given me the confidence to switch to reusable nappies

Rated 5 out of 5
May 4, 2022

I borrowed the Almost Birth to Potty reusable nappy pack for my 5 month old baby. I’d wanted to try cloth nappies for a while but didn’t know where to start as everyone says you need to try different kinds to see what works for you and your baby. This pack was perfect for that – a really useful collection of different kinds including pocket nappies, all in ones, fitted with wraps etc as well as plenty of boosters and fleece liners, all in good condition. There were some small discrepancies with what the inventory said and what the pack contained but it still had everything I needed to get the hang of the different kinds (with a bit of Googling for advice on fit etc). I’ve now bought some second hand versions of the ones we got on with best so will be continuing to cloth bum. Thank you for making this pack available – so valuable!

Rosie Downes

Response from SHARE: Frome, A Library of Things

Hey Rosie. Thank you for your review of our reusable nappies. We’ll certainly take a look into the discrepancies against the inventory and thank you for letting us know about it. We’re really glad to hear that borrowing the nappies gave you the courage to to go down the reusable route. Hopefully see you again soon for another borrow.

Don't know what I would have done without Share: Frome — Library of Things

Rated 5 out of 5
May 3, 2022

My oven decided not to work and I was stuck, but then I remembered the Share shop in Frome and went online and saw that they had an electric oven I could hire… RESULT! So easy to reserve and book online and then I simple pootled down to the Share Shop to pay and collect it! So quick and easy!! Thank you Share: Frome xxx

Sheila McClurg

Response from SHARE: Frome, A Library of Things

Hey Sheila. Thanks for the review. We’re really glad the oven you borrowed from us could be of use. Pootle by again sometime soon and hopefully we’ll have something else fab you can borrow.

A tent for the long weekend

Rated 4 out of 5
April 19, 2022

Only found out about the share library a couple of days before we due to go away. Almost cancelled the trip. However, Share to the rescue with an array of tent size options. We went for the 4 man some type as we like to be able to stand. Easy to put up, instructions seen into bag. You will obviously need the mallet and anything you want inside the tent but this one came with pegs. Very straight forward hiring process. I will definitely use again when the need arises. Can’t comment on how waterproof the tent was as it didn’t rain 😁

Rachael Watts

Response from SHARE: Frome, A Library of Things

Glad we could come to the rescue for you Rachael so you didn’t have to cancel your trip and you could get away. Look forward to seeing you next time. 🙂

Wow what a great community service!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 14, 2022

We borrowed a projector and screen to hold a mini cinema night for a birthday and the whole process was really easy and worked really well. Reserving the items and collecting was very straight forward and as we had booked it out for a week managed to watch a couple of extra things on it before returning. We’ll definitely be coming back, thanks very much!

katie

Response from SHARE: Frome, A Library of Things

Hey Katie. We’re so glad you enjoyed using the projector and screen and that you got the service you expected. Look forward to seeing you again soon. 🙂

Belt Sander Does The Job

Rated 4 out of 5
April 14, 2022

A really effective sander. So pleased I borrowed this as it would have been a big investment with an unlikely possibility that it would be used again as it was for a one time job in stripping some painted garden furniture. Not sure that the dust collector was totally doing it’s job and this may be why it would occasionally become hot and cut out. I’d still hire it again though and know the shop will be looking into any problem.

Kevin Ross

Response from SHARE: Frome, A Library of Things

Glad we could save you some cash whilst enabling you to get a job done. Hope your furniture looks great in the garden. Thanks for the feedback on the dust collector. I think my dealt at home is the same but we’ll certainly look into it. See you again soon. 🙂

Fantastic resources - Friendly, helpful & welcoming - Community and sustainably minded

Rated 5 out of 5
March 25, 2022

I had been looking forward to borrowing my first item from the share library as I think it’s such a fantastic community and sustainably minded initiative. Everyone at the share library was very helpful and friendly. I really appreciated being shown the different options of lawn mower available to borrow so I could see how heavy they were, as I was planning to walk home with it.
I went for the manual lawn mower which was much harder to use than I expected on the long wet grass but I didn’t mind – it was a good work out! And it was very easy to transport home.
Thanks again, I will be back for sure!

Annelies Henny Peek

Response from SHARE: Frome, A Library of Things

AAAh! Its so lovely to hear that you had a helpful and positive experience when you came to visit. That’s what we’re here for. Come in anytime to borrow one of our mowers again. See you then! 🙂

Hire of thermal imaging camera

Rated 5 out of 5
March 15, 2022

An ideal item to have available at a sensible price. The camera was easy to use straight out of the box and i could download the images as jpeg files to my computer. With fuel prices and global warming this is a must do project for anyone wanting to work out where best to improve their home insulation. good friendly service and the online booking system worked well.

Gary

What a fantastic idea Share Frome really is!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 8, 2022

As a charity-based home , its not always viable for us to purchase things we may only use occasionally. Our residents really benefit from us being able to hire equipment. It means we are able to provide a much more varied plan of activities for them to enrich their stay at Ashwood.

Natasha

Fantastic bang for buck.

Rated 5 out of 5
March 2, 2022

I rented a small set of disco lights and a portable PA system for my child’s 5th birthday party. None of these items were up to the standard you’d get from an outfit catering to professional audio and lighting, but also all of these items were a fraction of the cost and all were perfectly suitable for my needs.
We had a great time, the music was going, the lights were flashing, and the kids were running about to Baby Shark.
I will definitely be back for more in the future, thanks.

Alastair

Fab Idea, great borrowing experience.

Rated 5 out of 5
March 2, 2022

I borrowed 2 x air mattresses, I needed them for a one off sleep over so didn’t want to spend lots. I joined with an annual membership easily and reserved my items all online. Pick up was simple and quick. The mattresses themselves were in great condition and perfect for the job. I dropped them back off the next day. I saved lots of money compared to buying new and hopefully helped towards saving the planet a little! What could be better?!

Emily Brice

Excellent

Rated 5 out of 5
November 19, 2021

Now my go to place for anything I will not use very often why buy

Tony patch

Share Shop is an Amazing Addition to Frome!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 15, 2021

Really a very big fan of Share:Frome and will continue to use the service in the future. All the items I took out were in perfect working order, the price was great and the online booking system was easy. The easy access to many items actually encouraged me to do a big DIY project I had been planning for a long time.
A big thank you to the team over there as they were very understanding – I had an accident and had to bring the items back one day late.

Emma Street

Fantastic!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 15, 2021

What a lovely and professional service!! We’ve been treated with a smile and politeness. The wheelchair we’ve borrowed literally saved me from being stuck at home with broken leg! Thank you!! Fantastic place and loads of things to borrow, so before you buy you should have a look into Share: Frome first to save money and environment!

Karolina

So easy and a great library of things

Rated 5 out of 5
October 6, 2021

First time using Share and what an easy and great experience. Borrowed a dehydrator to use on our Apple harvest. We have now preserved a stash of apple snacks for the coming month.
Thank you for an easy, friendly and well organised experience. I will use again

Kelly Louise Lewis

Strimmer - Did the job!

Rated 4 out of 5
September 20, 2021

Great item. Worked exactly as it should. Would use again for sure. Only issue was that the strimmer wire needed re-threading a few times and if (like me) you’re not adept at that sort of thing a laminated card showing how it goes in might help?

Nick Martin

Gazebos for a celebration at the Vicarage

Rated 5 out of 5
September 7, 2021

Gazebos in excellent condition with directions that were easy to follow.

Caroline Thornycroft

Lawnmower #10 cuts the mustard

Rated 5 out of 5
September 7, 2021

I’m a regular user of the Share library. It’s a fantastic service. Wish there were a couple of dedicated parking spots nearby to load/unload. Otherwise, all is good.

Mark

Amazing

Rated 5 out of 5
September 7, 2021

Everyone so helpful, tents were great

Ann Edney

Definitely worth doing

Rated 5 out of 5
August 25, 2021

The instructions are easy to follow, and although quite heavy, the cleaner and soft furnishing attachment were also easy to use. It removed stains from my carpets and sofas and has given my sitting room a new lease of life. I was surprised that it all dried quicker than I was expecting- the carpet only 2 hours or so – and I was able to do 2 small rooms, 2 sofas’ arms and a flight of stairs. Easily doable in one days’ hire, but make sure you park close by – although it has a carrying handle, I had to use both arms to carry it to the car park.

Sian Spoerer

First borrow of a lawnmower

Rated 5 out of 5
August 25, 2021

Brilliant. Signed on Sunday evening after years of prevarication. Walked in on my way home at lunchtime, showed driving licence and walked out with lawnmower for 24 hours. Wheeled it down the road; mowed exuberant new turf, had lunch and wheeled it back. Easy peasy.
Overall the simplest online registration and transaction ever.
I recently tried to buy a bottle of whisky online from a huge multi-national conglomerate. It was such confusing mess ordering and they then made such a bigger mess that I cancelled it as even if it ever arrived the experience of drinking it would have been spoiled. I told them, a little facetiously, there we little organisations in my town who could better. Thanks for proving me right.

Neil Howlett

Five star

Rated 5 out of 5
August 25, 2021

Borrowed a couple of items for camping and some outdoor games. Very happy with the ease it was to borrow and how cheap it was . Staff very polite and helpful .

Graham

Bell Tent

Rated 5 out of 5
August 25, 2021

So pleased we hired this retro Bell Tent. It is lightweight and compact and yet very comfortably slept 4 of us, with loads of room to spare. Super easy and quick to pitch and take down. We’ll be borrowing it again!

Katie

Excellent value and super friendly

Rated 5 out of 5
August 12, 2021

Super value, choice, and friendliness, extreamly helpful.
Would highly recommend.

Liz Horstmann

Ordering gardening equipment

Rated 5 out of 5
July 23, 2021

As a Support Worker supporting someone with an LD to use The Share Shop the whole process has been very easy from start to finish, amazing communication, flexibility throughout too. Thank you

Mark Turner

Everything you need for a party!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 23, 2021

Excellent – we hired a number of items for a party. Good to participate in the sharing economy and all the things we borrowed where used and enjoyed (bubble machine, ribbon sticks, candy floss maker & popcorn machine).

Sara

the ducklings were very happy...

Rated 5 out of 5
July 23, 2021

In the paddling pool I borrowed from Share, and I’m very happy I don’t have to house a paddling pool until I want to hatch ducklings again. The ducklings have gone to live in a beauty spot in Devon, my sisters farm, and have made the transition from having me as their mummy to being proper ducks, they look very smart in their adult plumage.

Roz

Great service

Rated 5 out of 5
June 14, 2021

Really easy pick up and return. Equipment in good working order.

Robert Morgan

Perfect for the job

Rated 5 out of 5
June 14, 2021

I’ve never used an electric sander before, so wasn’t sure which of the several on offer to pick, but the one shown to me seemed fine and indeed did a brilliant job. Easy to use, plus a clear explanation of how to fit the consumable sandpaper. I booked the sander and two sheets of sandpaper for two days, but only needed it for one, and was able to get a refund for the one sheet of sandpaper not used. A painless first experience of a Share Library loan!

Sian Spoerer

Saved me so much time!

Rated 5 out of 5
May 2, 2021

I borrowed a cordless screwdriver/drill to help me put together a garden structure and I’m so glad I did. It was really powerful, so saved me a lot of work drilling pilot holes and screwing in the screws, which would have taken ages by hand. I also got a lot of other little jobs done before I had to return it to Share.

Al

Excellent, easy process. Such a wonderful idea and resource.

Rated 5 out of 5
April 28, 2021

I would encourage everyone to enrol and use Share Shop.

Dr P Needham

Home energy wastage

Rated 5 out of 5
February 18, 2021

Using the thermal image camera when the weather is cold makes it possible to highlight where properties are losing heat in a big way then design solutions to cold bridging. Every house type should be evaluated in this way so that cost-effective solutions can be designed and implemented.

Sue

SHARE has ideal flood lights with rechargeable batteries for outdoor events

Rated 5 out of 5
December 18, 2020

A community carol concert in Catherine Street was illuminated by lights from SHARE

Caroline Thornycroft

Great service!

Rated 5 out of 5
December 8, 2020

This was my first loan. Order, collection and drop off was made easy. I needed to extend my loan and they were very helpful and friendly. A great selection of items to borrow. I will be using again.

Charlene Duncan

Top notch spades

Rated 5 out of 5
November 16, 2020

They dug splendid holes and we’d highly recommend them to anyone with snow to shovel or a pit to dig.

Shared Earth Learning

Fruit dehydrator

Rated 5 out of 5
October 29, 2020

Joining Share and collecting my first ‘borrow’ couldn’t have been easier. The dehydrator was excellent and it was great to be able to access the manual online. It’s not a piece of equipment we’d use often so borrowing made perfect sense: thanks, Share!

Michelle

Dehydrator

Rated 5 out of 5
October 12, 2020

I borrowed the rectangular Andrew James dehydrator and loved it. It’s a bulky, occasional items so ideal for the Share shop as few would have room for it in their kitchen. I dehydrated apples from the tree to make apple crisps which my son loved. I dehydrated the marjoram from the garden. I’ve dehydrated figs for use in granola, citrus slices for drinks and sweet potato slices to make healthy dog chews. One of the most interesting things however was dehydrating veg and then blitzing to make a salt-free vegetable stock powder. Will definitely borrow again at some point for another dehydrating session.

Sally

Brilliant idea

Rated 5 out of 5
October 6, 2020

Love the share shop, brilliant idea

Tim Heaver

Crowbar

Rated 5 out of 5
October 2, 2020

Useful as not the sort of thing I’d want to buy! We needed to remove a kitchen kick board and this was just the job.

Sally Perry

Much needed quality tool, perfect for my needs once in a Blue Moon.

Rated 5 out of 5
August 27, 2020

Start to finish the whole lending experience was practical, straight forward and enjoyable. My first time using Share.
Like many of us I’ve had a tool for years which was initially purchased as a response to a great urgent need. It’s doomed, only to be forgotten years later.
The Crank Extractor is good quality. This is important so as not to strip the threads off the peddle/crank arms which are much more costly than the actual tool.
I’m very grateful for the service in addition to the organisation which make this all possible.

Paul

Proper job

Rated 5 out of 5
August 24, 2020

Set up account and 30 mins later 1 st borrow done. Easy process and great team.

Tim

Brilliant concept, brilliant process

Rated 5 out of 5
August 10, 2020

Very proud to live in a place with such an innovate shop. Every town should have one! Smooth and easy process from start to finish, and the goods were in great condition. Thank you!

Rowan

Electric hob

Rated 5 out of 5
August 7, 2020

I used the electric hob for the melting an artist’s primer Jezo in my studio, it gave me the flexibility of trying something out at the other end of the house from the kitchen. It had a useful instruction manual.

Viv Meadows

Borrowed a stripper

Rated 5 out of 5
July 27, 2020

Wallpaper stripper/ steamer borrowed
TBH I didn’t use it but it kept my daughter occupied for a few days, she tells me it worked fine

Jill

Brand new equipment.

Rated 5 out of 5
July 20, 2020

I was in need of a de-humidifier due to excessive damp following heavy rain fall. I was very suprised and pleased to see I could borrow a substantial de-humidifier, recently acquired by the Store. It worked a treat. Very happy!!

Anni Tuffnell

Pressure washer

Rated 5 out of 5
July 13, 2020

Great service at the shop and the machine was in excellent condition and worked very well.

Irene

Bike Stand.

Rated 5 out of 5
July 10, 2020

I found borrowing the stand a good experience. I was treated with help and courtesy as we have come to expect in a town where caring and sharing is brilliant. We were happy to support what is a great idea.

MRS JEAN FRASER

A brilliant resource

Rated 5 out of 5
March 16, 2020

We are so lucky to have the Share Shop here in Frome – it’s such a useful resource for the community with really friendly, helpful staff.
Our oven had broken so we’ve borrowed a small temporary oven from the Share Shop while we wait to get a new one. We also borrowed table football while we were at it 🙂

Katy Brickley

Crisis Time resolved by Posh New De-humidifier!

Rated 5 out of 5
March 13, 2020

Very relieved and excited to pick up a brand new de-humidifier from Share Frome. Recently bought by the shop and helped me resolve partially my damp problem due to recent severe weather.
Easy to use and also to transport as on wheels. 🙂
Happy Customer!! 🙂

Anni Tuffnell

Seamless process

Rated 5 out of 5
March 3, 2020

Hired a wallpaper steamer. Seamless transaction and steamer did what it was meant to do. Very satisfied borrower 🙂

Jill

A wrecking bar

Rated 5 out of 5
February 28, 2020

It was easy cheap and saved me buying something I may use once
Very friendly and helpful in the shop

Alan Taylor

Just a great service

Rated 5 out of 5
February 19, 2020

It is so very refreshing to enter a retail/service outlet and feel welcomed and then meet a man ( name unknown …..fine beard and enviable long hair !,) who helps without being pushy and then gives great service. Quite simply awesome

Jeremy Gilmer

Great way to borrow...

Rated 5 out of 5
February 14, 2020

First class service from friendly and professional staff. Got just what I needed and sorted very quickly and efficiently. Well done everyone, will use again and would recommend to anyone.

Cate Robertson

If the Share Shop has it, it makes great sense to borrow

Rated 5 out of 5
February 11, 2020

How many times have you bought an item, used it once or only a few times and regret buying it? I know I have. Go to the Share Shop, borrow it for a small price for a few days and free up space in your shed!

Martin Jeffery

A brilliant idea and sharing of resources

Rated 5 out of 5
February 1, 2020

A brilliant idea and sharing of resources. Every town needs a Share shop if we are to reduce mindless consumption. Imagine if they were in the public library, integrating the concept of shared assets in the new circular economy.

anon

Today I joined SHARE

Rated 5 out of 5
October 20, 2019

Today I Joined ‘Share’. I needed a gardening shovel for a one off project and didn’t want to buy one.
I am excited that Frome has this shop!

anon

Remember to think SHARE

Rated 5 out of 5
January 17, 2020

I needed a battery charger as my van’s battery went flat … I knew my dad has one in London … but I couldn’t wait until I next went there … so I was going to go and buy one … then my wife said, ‘why not just borrow one from SHARE?’ Yes! Of course, saved me time and money. I must remember when I need something to think ‘SHARE’!

Dimitri

Slide copier

Rated 5 out of 5
January 15, 2020

Excellent bit of kit, but not one that I’d want to buy, so having the ability to borrow it is great. The system is clear and easy to use, plus the staff are friendly!

Martin

SHARE is an excellent initiative run by interesting, helpful members of the community.

Rated 5 out of 5
January 13, 2020

The more people who participate, the greater the contribution SHARE can make to helping people do what they can to care for and protect our environment; every step leads to change and adds up to leading us away from the destructive path society has been selfishly and slavishly following.

Caroline

Cool, community, lovely

Rated 5 out of 5
December 17, 2019

A really cool place, community driven, lovely people

anon

Fantastic project

Rated 5 out of 5
December 8, 2019

Fantastic project, such a variety of useful stuff to borrow, with lovely friendly helpful staff!

anon

Dehydrator

Rated 5 out of 5
December 2, 2019

Have been dehydrating all sorts over the last week! The machine was in good condition and did an amazing job.
Collection and return was well managed. Thank you!

linda

Made life better

Rated 5 out of 5
November 26, 2019

SHARE Frome has made life better for everyone in Frome. SHARE’s willingness to make it work and Can-Do attitude makes countless lives better. From a movie night with friends made magical with projectors, sound systems and popcorn machines. To fixing the leak in the roof with reliable power tools, sanders, and drills. Every person and project’s requirements are unique – but we all need to SHARE.

anon

First time Share member recommends friendly helpful service!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 19, 2019

Hi I’ve been telling everyone how useful Share has been. I borrowed a leaf vacuum/blower, and it did a great job for just a few pounds. The weed puller I borrowed wasn’t so useful, but I think that was due to the type of soil and position of the weeds. Trying out one from Share saved me buying a new one and finding out the hard way that it wasn’t what I needed!
Staff were friendly and helpful – glad I signed up as a member, as I shall be back for more garden & DIY tools.

Beverley Goddard

Borrowing flask

Rated 5 out of 5
November 17, 2019

Really happy.

Alyson

Couldn't have done it without you!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 10, 2019

We’re trying to make room for our 6 month old by moving our two older kids into the loft. We have a very tight budget for this project so being able to borrow all of the necesarry equipment for only £6 for a whole week was amazing! I spent the weekend building a single bed with a trundle bed underneath for the little piplings. Can’t recommend highly enough!!

Kree Clark

Very useful

Rated 5 out of 5
November 10, 2019

The lawn scarifier was great fire preparing a patch of grass for showing a wildflower patch.

Nick

An excellent scheme

Rated 5 out of 5
October 30, 2019

An excellent scheme

Asher

thanks for existing Everytime I have needed something, the Shareshop has had it.

Rated 5 out of 5
October 26, 2019

thanks for existing Everytime I have needed something, the Shareshop has had it.

Alex

A great facility!

Rated 5 out of 5
October 23, 2019

A great facility!

Rick

Great store ******

Rated 5 out of 5
October 22, 2019

Great store ******

Tom

Live clutter free

Rated 5 out of 5
October 20, 2019

Excellent for people who want to avoid filling their homes and garages with stuff they only use once or twice. We can now live a clutter free life, knowing there is a place to borrow whatever it is we need.

anon
SHARE your happy stories!